top of page

Prayer (Salah or Salat)

Salah or salat (Arabic: ٱلصَّلَاة‎ aṣ-ṣalāh, Arabic: ٱلصَّلَوَات‎ aṣ-ṣalawāt, meaning "prayer", "supplication", "blessing" and "commendation";[1] also known as namāz (from Persian: نماز‎))[2], is the second of the five pillars in the Islamic faith as daily obligatory standardized prayers. It is a physical, mental, and spiritual act of worship that is observed five times every day at prescribed times. While facing towards the Kaaba in Mecca,[3] Muslims pray first standing and later kneeling or sitting on the ground, reciting from the Qur'an and glorifying and praising Allah as they bow and prostrate themselves in between. Ritual purity is a precondition.

Salah is composed of repetitive cycles of bows and prostrations, divided into prescribed units called a rakʿah. The number of rakaʿahs varies according to the time of day.



The Five Prayers in Al-Islam

Fajr - Early morning prayer, before sunrise

Dhuhr- Late morning prayer, before noontime

Asr- Late afternoon prayer

Maghrib - Early evening prayer

Isha- Late evening prayer, after sunset

Wudu (washing before prayer)

Prayer (Salah or Salat)

Please consider making a tax-deductible donation to Masjid Al-Qur'an


bottom of page